Another Way to Enjoy Podcasts for Language Learning

I remember the first time someone suggested that I listen to podcasts. I was dubious. Where would I find a good podcast? I was scared that I wouldn’t be able to understand any of it. But I have found podcasts to be one of the most important parts of my language learning day.

Making time to study is difficult. You finally make the time to sit down and study… but what will you start with?

Here’s a quick trick to hopefully inspire your next free moment to study a language or to add to your language learning schedule.

First you need a regular podcast to listen to. I downloaded Podclub.ch to study Italian but you might have your own favourite podcast source.

Second, you need a phone or book to scrawl notes into. I like to have a dedicated book for my own Italian study.

1. Beginner Level

During the podcast, write down any words you can pick out, whether you understand the meaning or not. While this may prove difficult, what you’re actually doing is getting exposure to the language and training  your ear to begin picking out the words.

2. Intermediate Level

During the podcast, pause after any main ideas and write them down in the target language. Alternatively, you may like to summarise the main ideas and write them in your first language.

3. Advanced Level

After the podcast, you may like to form a short response to one or more of the topics in the podcast in your target language.

What’s another way to use podcasts?
Let me know in the comments.

One thought on “Another Way to Enjoy Podcasts for Language Learning

Leave a Reply

